The Endless Night. . .

So we’re back to multiple nights of crappy sleep up in this joint.  Unfortunately it’s not because Chris and I are whooping it up.  It’s because Huggy Bear seems wholly incapable of sleeping for more than 3 hours without screaming his adorable, annoying little head off.

Nothing seems to be working.  We have tried everything we can think of to no avail.  I groggily pulled Dr. Sears off the bookshelf this morning.  He offered pages of suggestions, most of which, we have already tried.

Interestingly, he also suggests I adjust my attitude and expectations towards my child’s sleep habits and nighttime parenting.  You know what Dr. Sears?  My attitude is fucking stellar with 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep.  

I’m nearly certain his teeth are to blame.  Just about every other night Chris desperately whispers to me, “Do you think we should just drug him?”

I don’t freaking know.

Assuming we do offer him a little acetometaphin or similar, we surely can’t offer it to him every night.  He’s not wailing in continual pain.  Is he merely in mild distress and just can’t self soothe when he awakens?  I struggle to get dressed before 3PM every day, I’m certainly not qualified to decide when to offer a baby pain relief.

Does this clueless feeling ever end?!  Stupid parenting.

3 thoughts on “The Endless Night. . .

  1. The clueless feeling may never end. But the rotten sleep does. When they’re tiny, their sleep schedule gets messed with pretty often, but all three of mine eventually worked out the sleep thing. Hang in there. It sucks. I know.

Leave a Reply

