I Stay Home With My Kid Because I’m Selfish

I was walking earlier today with Mac, and I was thinking about what I was going to do.  And it occurred to me, I didn’t have to do anything.  All I had to do was enjoy this moment.

All I had to do was enjoy the sun on my face, the wind in my hair, the sweet sound of the sailboats’ floats squeeking against the docks.

For the first time in my entire life, I couldn’t care less that I had no deadline; that I had no meetings; that my ideas or advice weren’t important to anyone.

I had nothing to do.

I have everything to do.

My entire life up until this point was measured by grades, salary, designer hand-bags, rushing, rushing, panic.  Disrespect.

I have been given the gift of a second childhood through the eyes of my son.  I’ve been given the tremendous gift of spending every day with him thanks to my sweet husband.

And my selfish ass will milk it for all it’s worth.

After all, I have everything to do. . .with an adorable side kick and handsome husband.

And I don’t want to miss one fucking disgusting minute with these men!

Care to comment?

6 thoughts on “I Stay Home With My Kid Because I’m Selfish

  1. You are very fortunate to be able to stay at home and spend quality time with your family – that is wonderful. I wish I could stay home with my son (not financially possible right now)…. so I’m glad other mommies out there get to enjoy it! 🙂

    • I realize I’m very fortunate. I certainly don’t think one decision is better than the other – all just depends on the family and the circumstances. At first I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, but I realize it was a great option for me. Although, I’ve had a couple of days where being at my former office dealing with a bunch of adults who frequently acted like babies seemed easier! ha!

      • Yes, I’m sure you do miss the ‘adult time’ you had in an office, but that’s what play dates and mommy groups are good for, right?! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Being a stay at home mom – my perspective | 4eyedblonde

Leave a Reply

