How Did Anyone Parent Before Internet, Google, and Apps?!

You know how many times a day I Google something?  A. Lot.  And now that there’s a kid in the mix, it seems to be a lot more.

I wonder, how the hell did anyone manage to survive past 3 months without Google?  

Sure, there were those Childcraft Series books but let’s face it, the gross photos of rashes in those tomes were limited by publishing costs.  With the help of  Google, I can self-diagnose a bug bite or diaper rash into a gazillion nearly fatal conditions.

Searched in the past 12 hours from my phone:

a.  When do blue eyes change color?

b.  Activities for 9 month olds

c.  Sunscreen for babies

d.  What’s that bump on my finger?

e.  Fun, cheap Easter decorations

f.  How to repair a torn convertible top.

Yes, it seems my curiosity is quite diverse.

Then there are Apps! Apps for every blessed thing you could dream.  When I want to take a fun video of Mac, I go for the 8mm app.  If I want to see how far I walk, there’s MapMyRun.  What the hell are those two bright stars visible from Mac’s room every evening?  Thanks to Star Walk, I know they are actually planets.

Is my child ever going to use a reference book of any sort?  Sadly, probably not.  And it kinda’ pisses me off he’s not going to be bored to death learning the Dewey Decimal System.  

It’s easy to get bogged down in the endless amounts of information provided.  And unlike good old Encyclopedia Britannica, it’s sometimes hard to discern what’s credible information and what’s not.  Which is why, I guess in the end, we are all still parenting the “old-fashioned” way to some degree:  by gut instinct and sheer determination to get through another day.

The fabulous ladies over at MerelyMothers put together a tidy little list of free Apps for Mom’s the other day.  It’s a great list and worth a peek: Best Free Apps for Moms.  http://merelymothers.com/2012/03/13/top-ten-tuesdays-best-free-apps-for-moms/ (In case I messed up inserting the link!)

I’m planning to hit the App Store ASAP to load up their suggestions.  My curiosity always gets the better of me!

4 thoughts on “How Did Anyone Parent Before Internet, Google, and Apps?!

  1. Sarahlynne and I were both teachers before becoming SAHMs, and we’ve often discussed how our children’s education will be so dramatically different from our own: no Dewey decimal, as you say, few if any reference books (or maybe books of any variety?), no newspapers; all Internet all the time. I also think about how my daughter will never really know that a telephone was ever just a thing to talk on, since I spend a fair portion of my day with her doing other things on my iPhone. I guess we just have to embrace these changes. After all, we moms certainly don’t seem to mind all this technology 🙂

    Thanks for the shout out!!
    – Evanthia

    • I’m pretty sure Mac is just going to pick up the phone and start texting any day now! Ha. I’m definitely willing to embrace the technology but I do still love me an old fashioned book. Thank you for the re-tweet! I also enjoyed the post today regarding flying with small children. We are preparing to take Mac to Florida soon. A quick flight but our first and although he’s normally a cool customer, I’m afraid the plane could be the perfect place for a monster meltdown! I’m looking forward to seeing the tips and tricks others post and I’m going to download children’s books to my e-reader as you suggested (Ha! Technology again)!

  2. OMG, I don’t think I would’ve survived the first 4 months of motherhood without my iPhone. Honestly, how did women do it before us?!

    I loooove your blog, by the way. One of these days I’m going to find the time to try out some of your amazing recipes. You are like SUPERWOMAN!

    • You are so kind! I’m hardly superwoman but I completely love the idea! Did I just read on your fabulous blog that thanks to the internet you have cabbage in your foundation garments? LOL. I’ve heard it works. I really hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

