When Religion Comes Calling. . .

Let me just preface this by saying, I have no problem with any organized religion or other various spiritual beliefs and practices.  We are free in this country to practice any religion we so choose and I fully appreciate that freedom.

What I don’t appreciate is folks knocking on my door to share their beliefs with me.

Oh, I don’t exactly mind being interrupted from eating cookies, pinning useless shit and watching NCIS to answer the door.

And it does only take a few moments for me to explain I already practice one religion that has been confusing the hell out of me since sixth grade and really with the way my son has been acting in church of late, really, I’m not looking for yet another nave to sheepishly cower in while wrangling a screaming ten-month old.

I don’t even mind recycling the literature you insist I take.  It certainly doesn’t bother me that come Thursday morning our alley is going to be littered with all the glossy little pamphlets you offered up to every damned house on the block.

You know what I do mind?  I mind when you get the kid awake!

Look, I know your religion likely doesn’t give you the super-powers necessary to know that I have two asshole dogs and a napping ten-month old.  However, when my Pinterest time is cut short by your disturbance, it makes me feel very unchristainlike.

Let’s save ourselves some trouble.  Send me an email.  You will save yourself time and effort by ceasing to wander around the neighborhood riling all the dogs up in the middle of the day.  I’ll save myself some stress-related cardiovascular disease.

In the alternative, if emailing the good word seems contrary to your ministering beliefs, just leave the literature in my mailbox.

I recycle devoutly.

Products We Love: BOB Revolution Stroller

Thanks to the generosity of friends, we ended up with nearly all the baby gear we could ever want or use when we found out we were expecting Mac.  I did however, insist on a brand new stroller.  I did a little looking around.  I’m not much of a comparison shopper and frankly reading baby gear reviews makes me confused as hell, but after a minimal amount of research, I was convinced the BOB Revolution was for us.

It folds up super fast and easily.  It’s well made – and dear lord do we abuse it!  It maneuvers very easily in tight spaces.  It has great shocks making it easy to use on hiking trials and city streets.  It’s appropriate for jogging once the little one achieves a certain size and the ability to keep his head stable.  It has a large canopy plus a fantastic sunshade (sold separately).  There’s decent storage below the seat and a nice mesh pocket on the back.  It’s incredibly comfortable for us to push thanks to a padded and tall handle bar.  I love the easy to use 5 point harness.  It feels very sturdy and secure to me.

My list of cons is much shorter:  It’s not cheap.  It’s not very well padded.  Mac obviously hasn’t complained and always seems comfortable in it, however, I think perhaps some other strollers I’ve seen look more “cushy.”

There is an infant seat attachment sold separately.  We didn’t purchase it, and probably for the first 4 weeks, Mac was just too small to comfortably place in it.  However, this wasn’t an issue for us given the hot weather following his birth, so depending on your lifestyle and the time of year your child is born, you might not even need the infant seat converter.

If you have an active lifestyle – i.e., love being outdoors, walking or running and need a well made stroller, that folds easily and compactly, I would highly recommend you take a look at what BOB has to offer.  I looked online for our model but I’ve noticed REI also sells some models in their stores.

Big Thanks to Mac’s generous godparents who gifted him his BOB.  Now we can torture him with outdoor activities until he’s at least 70 pounds!