Dear Neighbors,

I adore you all.

Honestly I do.

Well, as much as any selfish bitchy soul can adore anyone.

BUT

Didn’t see that coming did you?

You semi-SUCK on the Fourth of July.

I certainly applaud your unbridled enthusiasm for our Nation – including the charming patriotic displays in your front windows and the flags hanging neatly from your second story windows.  I love seeing you all gathered on our sidewalks, enjoying libations and good company, playing games, laughing, eagerly anticipating a great Baltimore fireworks display.

Yet, shortly after said fireworks display, you start semi-sucking. . .

As the evening wears on bottle rockets start screaming through the darkness.  Folks shout from roof-top decks.  The intimidating booms of illegally obtained fireworks bear down upon the neighborhood, raining soot and ashes.

Perhaps you’ve lost count of your libations?  Or perhaps you are just explosives aficionados?

I am not concerned with your motivations.

I AM ONLY CONCERNED THAT YOUR STUPID DAMNED FIREWORKS ARE GOING TO GET MY KID AWAKE!!

What?  You’re going to bring up the fact that for the past decade I’ve been right there with you losing count of my libations not caring about anyone else who might be trying to sleep, shouting from the rooftops?

That’s not very neighborly of you, now is it? 🙂

Wishing you all a safe and happy Fourth of July Holiday!

10 thoughts on “Dear Neighbors,

  1. Haha, happy 4th of July!
    But yeah, I have to admit I am worried about tonight. Our neighbors must be relatives of your neighbors or something because they have been preparing and testing their fireworks for the last few nights. And so I fear the worst for tonight. Good luck to everyone with tiny sleepers.

      • She had a real hard time going to sleep but thankfully she didn’t wake up until later that night/ How about Mac?

      • I’m glad she slept for a while. I kinda’ made a pre-emptive strike with Mac. We took him to the grocery store later in the evening because for some reason this makes him tired. (Makes me tired too but only because I hate grocery shopping!). I let him stay up a little later about 9:15 and then I put him in the sleepy wrap and let him fall asleep that way (our main fireworks started about 9:30). Then I kept him asleep strapped to me until they were over. I wanted to make sure he was completely asleep before he got in the crib. It seemed to work. Of course next year will be another challenge – he won’t want to miss them probably. Sigh. 🙂

      • Smart move. Glad it all worked out. And yeah, next year should be interesting. But for now I’m just glad yesterday went fairly well. 🙂

  2. haha this is great! And i agree with you! Unfortunately for us, we live in SC and here fireworks are LEGAL and you can buy them everywhere! Needless to say, fireworks of all kinds were going off in neigbors yards until 1am!! I had the box fan on full blast in M’s room to drown out the noise. Luckily it didn’t wake her up, but the hubby and I were awake all night!

Leave a Reply

