The Highly Unanticipated What’s For Dinner?

I REALLY need to stop taking lazy cell phone pics! Trust me, it looked much better live!

At about 2:30 every afternoon, I start thinking about booze. . .Ok. . .for the sake of candor, some days I think about that at 9:30AM. . .But really what I have to start focusing on every day about this time is dinner.

When we were without child and with large amounts of disposable income, I’d plan out every meal.  I’d plan nice creative dinners with tons of fresh ingredients.  I’d have things prepped ahead of time, so cooking and clean up after work was quick and easy.

Sometime in the past year, I’ve seemed to have lost some. . .ok. nearly all of my give a damn (I believe that is a Jen Lancaster phrase). . .and we’ve fallen into this relatively uninspired dinner-time meal rotation:  there’s usually a “taco night,” a “fish night,” a “pasta night,” “salad night” and ashamed to admit, almost always one veggie burger and some kind of potato night.

Look, it’s not as if these meals are complete garbage.  They are still pretty well-balanced, taste good, and are healthful.  It’s just that I get a little bored cooking and eating them.

But I most certainly don’t want to spend an inordinate amount of time in the kitchen when I could be spending time with Mac (or sleeping).  What I need is some inspiration. . .or extra hours in the day. . .or to care a little more really.

I mean, I don’t want Mac to trudge home from school every Tuesday, dreading dinner because it’s “salad night.”  Or whatever. . .

I used to collect interesting recipes from magazines and carefully organize them all so I would have inspiration for our meals.  I haven’t opened that binder for at least 9 months.  In fact, I took it to the basement where it has never been heard from again.  I think I need to resurrect it. . .

Plus there’s ice-cold beer is down there. . .

Now, in the spirit of something more original for dinner this evening. . .And since it’s hot as balls (however hot that is?!  I thought they were specifically engineered to stay cooler?), I’m going to make a salad, a nice salad that doesn’t require use of the oven or too much prep time but is still interesting and filling .

Here’s How:

1.  Wash and tear romaine lettuce into bite sized pieces.  Arrange on plate.

2. Top with hard-boiled egg, canned tuna, olives, oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, green beans, red onion, and a drizzle of balsamic dressing.

Fast and easy.  No oven required.

Yes, I realize this is still technically like “salad night.”  Stop being a smart ass.  I’m trying!

4 thoughts on “The Highly Unanticipated What’s For Dinner?

    • Chris is not a picky eater but he does have his favorites and when he started eating this he said “This is the perfect dinner for a hot day.” It’s sooooo easy. And if you don’t care for canned tuna, you could grill some outside so you don’t heat up the house broiling them. Let me know if you can improve on it. I thought later maybe I should have used a red-wine vinegar instead of balsamic for the dressing?

      • I can totally see this being awesome for a hot day. I think I am going to test all of your suggestions, thanks. 🙂

  1. Pingback: You Can Accomplish This Before You Effing Head Explodes: Menu for a Week | The Diary of a Reluctant Mother

Leave a Reply

