You Can Accomplish This Before Your Head Effing Explodes: Menus For A Week, Dinner 1

Today we tried Beet, Apple, & White Bean Salad. . .From Family Circle April 2012.  It was excellent.  You can find the original recipe here.

I modified a few steps.

1.  I just roasted the beets whole, individually wrapped in foil.  I omitted tossing them with olive oil or salt prior to baking.  It took longer than 45 minutes to roast the whole beets. . .more like an hour and a half.

2.  I soaked my own cannellini beans instead of using canned.

3.  I was a little lazy about the dressing.  I kinda’ got tired of trying to follow the recipe and amuse the kid so I made our usual Good Seasons Dressing with balsamic vinegar  (in the curette/shaker thing) according to the measurements then I added a few squirts of Dijon mustard and a pinch of salt and a few extra splashes of water to thin it out a bit.

4.  I mixed chopped romaine lettuce with the kale.

5.  Of course I used extra feta!  Who measures cheese anyway?

Feta: $4.99 (won’t use entire package), kale:  $1.48, Apples:  $1.00 (special dollar per pound); all other ingredients on hand. . .Dinner for 4 for about $1 per person.

Sadly, I didn’t manage to get any photos but we all know my lazy idea of a legitimate photo is hastily snapped, poor quality iPhone pic, so you aren’t missing much.

2 thoughts on “You Can Accomplish This Before Your Head Effing Explodes: Menus For A Week, Dinner 1

  1. Pingback: You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Menus for a Week -Dinner 2 | The Diary of a Reluctant Mother

  2. Pingback: Welcome Home Honey! | The Diary of a Reluctant Mother

Leave a Reply

