You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Menus for a Week -Dinner 2

So today was a little hectic.  We went to Philadelphia to visit my college roommate and his family. . .Including their month old son.  So stinking cute!  Then we raced home to get to church on time.   We can never seem to make to church on time. . .Another week where I couldn’t understand a blessed word of the homily.  But Chris wrestled with Mac in the vestibule this week so at least I got to sit in one spot very quietly for a few minutes. . .

Ok.  So dinner this evening was Taco Pizza.

Boy am I glad there aren’t beets involved tonight.  This morning I got awake peeing fuchsia and I was convinced I was in some kind of renal failure.  Thank heavens a Google search indicated beets can make urine pink.  My hypochondria was on overdrive for about 45 minutes.  

Aren’t you positively starving after that digression?

Here’s the original recipe.  I’m so annoyed with myself, I can’t figure out the source.  I’ve searched a lot of the various magazines I routinely read and I just can’t locate it. . .If you know the source, please comment so I can give proper credit and link.

Makes 6 servings, prep 15 minutes, Bake at 475 for 17 minutes.

1 lb frozen pizza dough, thawed

1- 15 oz can refried beans stirred to loosen

1-15 oz can of black beans rinsed and drained

3/4 cup shredded pepper jack cheese

2 tablespoons chopped cilantro

2 cups shredded iceberg lettuce

2 cups grape tomatoes, quartered

1.  Heat oven to 475.  Coat a 14 inch pizza pan with nonstick cooking spray

2.  On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough into a 14-inch circle, gently roll up on a lightly floured rolling pin and unroll onto prepared pizza pan.

3.  Spread refried beans over dough to within 1/2 inch of edge.  Spoon on salsa and black beans.   Scatter cheese over top.

4.  Bake for 15-17 minutes or until bottom of pizza is brown and crispy.

5.  Scatter cilantro, lettuce, and tomatoes over top and cut into 6 slices. 

And here’s how I managed NOT to follow the original recipe:

1.  I soaked my own black beans the night before instead of using canned.

2.  Instead of purchasing a pound of frozen pizza dough and taking the time to let it thaw and roll it myself, I purchased a fresh, pre-formed pizza crust.  The one I purchased was about 12 inches in diameter rather than the 14 suggested in the recipe but all the ingredients fit nicely.

3.  This stuff is dense and filling so I’d say it might even make more than six servings, especially if you serve it with a side of salad.

4.  I baked our pizza at 425F instead of the suggested 475F (mainly because I’m afraid if I crank the oven that high, I’ll set off all the smoke alarms because I’m so freaking lazy, I don’t even clean my self-cleaning oven).  It was fine and only took about 20 minutes.

5.  I used sharp cheddar cheese, because that’s what I had handy.  And I certainly didn’t measure it.

6.  I didn’t add the salsa until AFTER the pizza was baked.  I don’t know, I just thought we’d like it better that way.

7.  If you think there’s any chance you will have left overs to reheat, I’d suggest putting the cilantro, lettuce, and tomatoes on each individual slice after serving so they aren’t on the entire portion you might wish to reheat.

Costs:  Pizza Crust $2.50; Lettuce (won’t use whole head) $1.99; Cilantro $0.66 (won’t use whole bunch); Grape Tomatoes (won’t use whole pint) $2.00.  All other ingredients I had on hand.  Dinner for 6 for about $7.15. . .or just a tad over a dollar per serving.

So far, cheap tastes and feels really really good. . .well, except for that isolated discolored urine incident. . .

2 thoughts on “You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Menus for a Week -Dinner 2

  1. Pingback: You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Menus for A Week, Dinner 3 | The Diary of a Reluctant Mother

  2. Pingback: Welcome Home Honey! | The Diary of a Reluctant Mother

Leave a Reply

