You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Menus for A Week, Dinner 3

We were supposed to have fish and roasted vegetables this evening.  But then Mac pulled some kinda’ schedule crushing sleep tricks on us.  So I decided to prepare the Shrimp rolls this evening, make the sweet potato fries into chips and pack it all up picnic style for a hike in the early evening.

But it didn’t quite work out.  You’re shocked.  I’m sure.

I started with the sweet potato chips at about 1:30 this afternoon.  And they were nearly entirely gone by 2:45.

Then Mac slept later than expected so we decided to eat at home prior to our hike because we knew he’d be starving when he awoke.

The shrimp rolls were awesome.  The original recipe is from Coastal Living July/August 2012.

Here’s how I switched it up:

1.  I didn’t have white wine vinegar.  So I used 1.5 teaspoons of red cider vinegar instead.

2.  I forgot chives at the grocery and sadly, all of mine seemed to perish while I was on vacation.  So I just omitted them.

3.  I guess when my husband asked the guy in the produce aisle what a shallot was, he was given scallions.  So I chopped the white parts and some of the green of five or six of them very finely and used them instead.  Seemed fine to us.

4.  I didn’t use baguettes – because I was too lazy to go to the market for fresh ones this morning.  We used whole wheat sandwich bread.

5.  And finally, because I had some iceberg lettuce left from the taco pizza last night, I used it instead of cutting fresh romaine.

We all really loved this recipe – Mac most of all.

Since the sweet potato chips were gone, I served with a salad composed of some left over veggies and herbs from a few previous dinners:  kale, lettuce, red onion, grape tomatoes, cilantro, parsley.

Costs:  Shrimp $17.84; scallions $1.99; sweet potatoes $2.80; all other ingredients I had on hand.  Dinner for 4 for $22.63. . .Which is what?  About $5.50 per person.  Not as bargain basement as the previous two meals, but not too bad considering how much we all liked the shrimp prepared this way.

And I forgot to take a photo. . .I was too busy eating.  

Leave a Reply

