You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Menus for a Week, Dinner Number, Oh Hell I Lost Count

So last evening we had the Fish and Roasted Vegetables I had originally planned for Sunday.

The wheels really came off this one. . .

I hadn’t planned to do anything special to the fish.  Chris purchased some frozen wild caught sock-eye salmon and I thawed it and cooked it in a skillet with some olive oil and a little bit of salt.  I served it with lemon wedges.  Often I’ll broil our fish in the oven but it was so hot yesterday afternoon, I didn’t want to crank the oven that high.

The vegetable recipe I was planning to try was Savory Broccoli-Cauliflower Roast from Good Housekeeping 12/2011.

Here’s what laziness, defeat, and relative apathy do to a perfectly good recipe. . .

1.  First of all, this recipe makes a LOT of servings.  I planned to make only about 4 servings.  I roasted the broccoli and cauliflower in accordance with the instructions.  But I roasted them early in the day (again with the oven and the heat).

2.  Then I allowed them to cool and loosely covered them with foil (still on their baking tray).  Then I spent a solid hour getting us ready to go to the pool.  Traipsed to the pool in a swimsuit and flip-flops, with Mac in the stroller, sweating profusely.  The pool looked awesome, it was overcast and I could tell from my approach there were exactly 3 people total at that huge pool.  And NO children in the kiddie pool or the splash areas.  I was thrilled!  I quickly learned that while the pool is open from 12-7 every day, kids under 12 are actually only allowed to swim between 12-2 and 5-7.  Attn:  Balto Parks & Rec, This would be useful information to put on the sign AT THE POOL.

3.  After bitterly marching home and still sweating profusely, I rolled around on the floor with Mac for a while, pretending to be a turtle stuck on my back so he didn’t expect me to roll over and do anything too taxing.

4.  Realized it was really close to dinner time.  Read the rest of the recipe and decided it was entirely too much work to thinly slice olives or grate citrus.

5.  Dumped the roasted vegetables into the salad we’ve been eating for days – kale, romaine, red onions, tomatoes, and herbs.

Chris said he really liked the roasted veggies.  Mac didn’t seem so keen on them.  We’ll try again.

How Much Did This Cost?  Broccoli $2.13, Cauliflower $3.99; Salmon $9.99.  About $4 per person. . .Plus I “saved” $3 bucks yesterday by screwing up our swimming.

On an unrelated note, I’m getting ready for some company who are arriving tomorrow and staying through the weekend.  I’m hopeful I can schedule a few posts for the next few days tomorrow morning.  I wouldn’t want you to wonder how my egg dish turned out this evening.

Leave a Reply

