You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Menus for a Week, Dinner Oh Hell I Lost Count Plus 1

Mac’s Breakfast this morning. . .

Yesterday afternoon was a little rough.  Mac was a pretty willful and a little defiant in the morning but he woke up after his nap in a great mood.  Unfortunately, then it was my turn.

Every month, I seem to get a one day hormonally induced blistering headache.  Some months I think it might actually be a considered a migraine.  All of a sudden, it’s like there’s an ice pick in my temple and it’s being held in place with a very tight rubber band that wraps around my entire head.

The headache hit me sometime about 3:30 or 4. Just in time to suffer through dinner and all the other chores I was supposed to be doing before our guests arrive later today.

The Real Simple Spinach and Goat Cheese Frittata (August 2012) recipe looked manageable so that’s what I went with. . .

I’ve searched the Real Simple website and I can’t locate the recipe.  Perhaps because it’s from their current issue?  So here’s the actual recipe:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 medium onion, thinly sliced

Kosher salt and black pepper

5 ounces baby spinach (about 6 cups)

10 large eggs, beaten

4 ounces goat cheese, crumbled (about 1 cup)

5 ounces mixed greens (about 6 cups)

1 tablespoon white wine vinegar

Country bread, for serving

1. Heat oven to 400F.  Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a medium ovenproof nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Ad the onion and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until golden brown, 3 to 4 minutes.

2.  Add the spinach and cook, tossing, until wilted, about 1-2 minutes.  Add the eggs and sprinkle with the goat cheese.  Cook until the mixture begins to set around the edges, 1 to 2 minutes.  Transfer the skillet to oven and bake until set, about 10 to 12 minutes.

3.  Dividing evenly, place the greens on plates and drizzle with the vinegar and the remaining oil.  Season with 1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper.  Serve with the frittata and bread.  

With My um Modifications. . .

1.  I preheated the oven to only 375.

2.  I softened the onions in a skillet as instructed.  However, our skillets aren’t oven safe.  And I was too lazy to dig out the Lodge Cast Iron pot that is.  So I just softened the onions and wilted the spinach in our “regular” skillet.

3.  Then, with a fork wielding Mac in the Sleepy Wrap and my head pounding to the point of seeing spots, we counted out 12 eggs (I just added the extra two eggs to use up what we had in the house) and beat them in a separate bowl.

4.  After Mac nearly took out my eye 3 times, I pried the fork out of his fist and substituted with a rubber spatula.  At first he wasn’t pleased with this development but once I showed him I also had a rubber spatula and was going to use it to pour the eggs, he was more jazzed about it.  I love when he imitates the same stuff I’m doing. . .which hopefully won’t ever involve cursing, whining, or being passive aggressive. . .

5.  Since I didn’t have an oven safe skillet handy, I sprayed a 9 by 9 Pyrex baking dish with a little olive oil spray.  I poured the eggs in and then added the vegetables.

6.  I baked this for a while at the lower temperature.  Maybe 45 minutes or so?

7.  Meanwhile, Mac and I set the table and made salad dressing (for never-ending kale salad we’ve been consuming daily).  And just as I was getting supremely annoyed with that spatula being jammed nearly up my nose, I realized I had completely forgotten the goat cheese.

8.  Struggle to open that little tube packaging of goat cheese with scissors and Mac still in the carrier.  Why is packaging so damned difficult?  Of course, by now the eggs had set so I just crumbled the goat cheese on top and covered with some foil hoping it would at least melt a little.  It did.

9.  I toasted some whole wheat bread, put out the butter. . .done.

This was a good recipe.  The eggs weren’t too “dense” or dry or overcooked.  Mac and I ate right around 5 (Mac was starving).  Then Chris ate it about 45 minutes later after he went running.  I believe it was still warm and held up well.  It also looks like it would reheat nicely.

COSTS:  Spinach $1.99; Goat Cheese $4.99 (sheesh); Eggs $3.59 (for 18).  Everything else we already had in the house.  Dinner for 4 (at least) for about $2.60 per person.

Leave a Reply

