Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Annoying

They say toddlers are supposed to imitate things that adults do.

They say it’s integral to their development.

They let on like it’s adorable and wondrous.

They are jerks.

With the exception of the kid learning how to “phish in” birds, every other adult behavior he’s imitated annoys the shit out of me.

It all started a few months back.  We went to Florida for a visit with some dear friends.  You know what he learned?  He learned how to fake cough and imitate an arm gesture.

The cough?  Now, every blessed time he does it, I’m convinced he’s nearly choking to death on some piece of filth he’s picked up off our floor.

The arm gesture?  Sure it was cute when we were watching the Stanley Cup play-offs and it was accompanied with an adult screaming “GOAL.”  In the absence of such fan-fare, it merely appears he’s the youngest card-carrying member of some Hitler youth organization.

Know what else he’s learned?  Daddy thinks belching is hilarious.  Every meal, our 15-month old tries valiantly to produce an earth-shaking burp in an effort to make his Father laugh and laugh and laugh. . .Ugh.

But wait!  There’s more!

He also imitates me.

And it’s revolting. . .

He doesn’t grab a pen and try the NYT Sunday crossword.

He doesn’t pretend he’s reading or writing. . .Or painting. . .Or taking photos. . .or playing music. . .

He doesn’t imitate any sort of higher cognitive or pleasurable pursuits. . .

Rather, he takes his bottle or sippy cup and pours liquid all over his high chair tray (or the floor) and proceeds to mop it up in a wide swiping back and forth motion with his favorite burp cloths. . .

Like?

HE’S CLEANING SOMETHING!

So yes, this is apparently the example I’m setting for my son. . .

Mommy cleans.  

Mommy has a law degree, a million things she’d love to learn, has a ton of interests, and actually knows some pretty cool stuff. . .yet, it appears all she does worthy of imitating is mop up shit all day long with a dish towel.

Sigh.

Oh well, at least he isn’t cursing under his breath while he’s doing it. . .

Yet.

16 thoughts on “Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Annoying

  1. haha. Your posts always make me look forward to the toddlerhood ahead of Avery. Oh dear. Belching and cleaning? Wow. They sure do pick the best actions to mock haha. Avery is still a little young to mock, but he loves sipping from a glass I’m drinking from and smacking his lips after and just keeping doing it over and over. LOL. I guess that’s nothing compared to what he will do in the future…

  2. I caught Bubbs picking her nose while we were out a few times last week…typically, it was when someone had stopped to tell me how cute she was. Argh! Now, I’m wondering where she learned it from, because I know for certain it wasn’t me!

    • I saw Mac stick his finger in his nose a couple of times. I think more out of curiosity than out of “purpose.” Currently he seems to favor his ear. . .but I fear the days when that novelty wears off. Ha! Why must they do such things?!

  3. My daughter saw me throw up once, from that moment on wards she’s imitated it nearly every day and even once actually vomited through pretending REALLY hard. Sighhh.
    When my boyfriend is round she shouts his name, lifts her leg up and pretends to fart.
    She’s really not a girly, girl at all. Hahaha!

  4. Haha, funny. Isn’t it just do annoying, though.
    Somehow I missed that you’re a fellow lawyer. Really useful when struggling with a toddler, isn’t it. 😉

    • You’re a lawyer-by-education too?! There seems to be a LOT of female, attorney mommy bloggers. I guess we just like writing and (ahem, spouting off). Ha!

      Regarding legal background and toddlers? Um. . .my negotiation skills have NEVER been tested like this before. . .and I honestly believed I dealt with people who behaved like toddlers BEFORE I had one! Ha.

      • Yup, studied law and loves it. Love being a mom more, so here I am. Didn’t know there are more of us here but it does make sense.
        And yeah, I wish I had paid more attention in my negotiation classes. Ha.

Leave a Reply

