HELP WANTED: Because I’m Too Lazy To Google This Stuff. . .

I have just a couple of quick parenting questions and frankly when I Google them, I’m not sure what advice to trust.

To make matters worse, when I start reading a parenting book, I fall asleep.

Where do I pick up my parent of the year award?  

But I trust my readers. . .So I have a couple of things I’d like to toss out there. . .I’m sure you’ll give me the best ideas/advice ever.

Sure, I could ask the pediatrician on a couple of these items, and I probably will, but I’d still love your thoughts.

Mac is just a few days shy of 16 months. . .

1.  BOTTLES:  Sometimes I offer him a sippy cup, other times a bottle.  He doesn’t seem to have a preference but he does seem to consume more milk from the bottle.  (I never offer him a bottle in his crib and he doesn’t use the bottle to soothe himself.  He just seems to be better able to drink from it).  Am I ok to keep offering him a bottle or should I be stopping that ASAP?

2.  BLANKETS:  The past few nights have been a little chilly.  Not cold enough Mac needs heavy-duty pj’s but cold enough that perhaps he’d like a lightweight blanket to snuggle with.  Although, he’s not waking in the middle of the night and he doesn’t feel like a little popsicle in the morning so maybe I’m just projecting my own fondness for the down duvet?  At any rate, I was curious when you introduced a blanket?  If at all?  And at what age?  Do you use a sleep sack?  A blanket tucked firmly into the mattress?  Does it actually stay there?

3.  TOYS:  I have family already starting to inquire about appropriate holiday gifts.  I go into a toy aisle and get nothing but a sensory-overload induced headache.  Are there toys you would HIGHLY recommend?  I know he’s becoming bored with some of his toys and we’re definitely going to have to keep it fresh if the winter is brutal and we can’t get outside much.  Book recommendations are always welcome.  The kid can’t get enough of the books.

4.  TOTALLY RANDOM:  My sister is having her first child (a boy) in a few short months.  The shower is quickly approaching.  What was the most special thing about your baby shower?  A “toast”?  A keepsake?  A game?  A particular item?  Food?  Photos?  I didn’t have a traditional shower since I had several extremely generous friends who gave me so much wonderful baby gear.

5.  MORE RANDOM, JUST FOR FUN – HALLOWEEN:  Mac was too little to enjoy Halloween last year.  We drug him outside in a very undignified chicken costume for about 10 minutes so he could collect about 6 pieces of candy.  He’s still too young to collect much candy but he loves wandering around visiting the neighbors. . .Do I let him go hard and load up his candy bag and enjoy the spoils myself?  What do you do?  Muh-hahahahaha.

10 thoughts on “HELP WANTED: Because I’m Too Lazy To Google This Stuff. . .

  1. 1) If he’s not that attached to the bottle, I’d just do away with it before he becomes attached. Try going straight to a regular cup. Water dries and you’d be surprised how easily they get used to drinking out of a regular cup!
    2) I’m the poster mother for what NOT to do to prevent SIDS. Thankfully, I haven’t had anything terrible happen with any of the kids. We tried the whole sleep on your back, no blanket approach and let me tell ya, bedtime was so much easier when we gave that up and wrapped em in a blanket. Peach (8 month old) even has her own pillow. And a giant stuffed teddy bear. 🙂
    3) Gotta skip this one – have no clue, no cable, and haven’t been toy shopping since my toddler’s birthday last March.
    4) The best part about my baby shower was the decorations. We had center pieces, themed cupcakes and cookies, runners and plates and cups. If I could do it over, I would do a gender reveal shower – that looks like so much fun!
    5) Go for the gold! Ha Ha! Let Mac go to his hearts content and then enjoy! Next year you’ll have to share! LOL

    • Thanks for the good advice, esp. regarding the bottle.

      We definitely don’t want him becoming attached to it after all this time. Mac has been drinking from an ordinary cup for a while; however, we have reached a point where it’s becoming a game, and after a few sips, he just wants to put his hands in it and dump it everywhere, which I’m not always prepared to deal with at every meal. Imagine? Ha! But we will kick any bottle habit ASAP. 🙂

      And I can’t WAIT to eat all that candy!!!

  2. 1) I’d also try to to get him away from the bottle and keep offering the cup. Another option is one of those cups/bottles with a built-in straw (http://nuby.com/en/nuby/cups-spouts/9845/). Livi really likes those and they are supposedly better than sippy cups.
    2) I’ve been wondering hat myself. Let me know what you decide to do. 🙂
    3) Never thought it would be so difficult to find good toys that keep her interested. I’m at a loss, frankly. As far as books, you probably already have these, but Livi just loves “Little Blue Truck” and “LIttle Blue Truck Leads The Way.”
    4) I didn’t have a baby shower either, so I can’t help you there.
    5) I’d say go for it. I would do it if we had nicer neighbors.

    • Thanks for the comments! We tried one of those straw cups a couple of times and he wasn’t digging it. Although, now that he’s a few months older, I should try again. I think Nuby is the brand we have!

      I’ll keep you posted on the blanket. It’s nuts, but I’m still terrified to put a blanket in there with him.

      Toys! GAH. Maybe I’ll just request a tupperware package for the holidays and see how much mileage I can get out of it. He seems way more interested in that sort of stuff anyway.

      So far the popular consensus is to go “whole hog” with the candy. . .I hope our neighbors give out GOOD stuff. . .I can only stomach so many stale tootsie rolls. 🙂

      • Livi took to the straw cup like a fish to water. Which was good because she didn’t get the hand of the sippy cups.

        And yeah, I am also terrified of putting a blanket in with her, especially one that could actually keep her a little warmer.

  3. You’re ahead of me but we’ve always used blankets with no problems They’re small in size and lightly tucked in, and we feel safer with the breathable ones with the holes in (dunno if that really makes a difference). As for books I just go to the library, see which one he likes whilst we’re there (we do judge books by their covers, yellow ones!), read it at home a few times and if we likey, we go buyey! That’s only happened once in all the fifty or so we’ve borrowed so far. Good frugal whatsit.

    • Thanks for the ideas. I considered a crocheted blanket with the “holes.” I’m not sure if it makes a difference either. Maybe I’ll see how he likes it during a nap when I can “spy” on him a little better.

  4. I’ve been meaning to respond to this for a while…

    Bottles: I nursed until 11 months, so she never really had a lot of bottles until then. But once we were on formula, I just started with the sippy cups. I use the Born Free ones (get the ones with the slower nipple as they don’t make as much mess), but we’ve also tried the sippys with a straw and she’s fine with those too. I just find I lose the straws in the dishwasher! I also bought these from Avent, which are kind of cool, but I totally forgot about them until now! http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12123541

    Blankets: We’ve used a sleep sack since we stopped swaddling. I just buy the Grobag ones as I love them. The only thing she gets in her crib is her lovey (one of those taggie triangles) as I am paranoid about SIDs. She’s 18 months and we still use the Angel Care monitor though, so don’t trust me too much as I’m totally ridiculous about that.

    Books: I am totally a book person. We love all of Sandra Boynton’s books. The current favorites are “Hippos Go Beserk”, “1, 2, 3″, Belly Button Book”, and the Little Pookie ones. She also really likes “Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See” and “The Very Busy Spider”. I’m not so fond of them as she wants me to ready them OVER and OVER, but they are good books. Do you have any recos for us?

    Toys: OMG, I love shopping for toys. We go to the toy store all the time to test things out together. I find puzzles are a big hit right now. We love the Hape alphabet puzzle a lot, but all of the chunky puzzles are a hit. We also love the Leapfrog and VTech blackberries – she knows the alphabet, so she can play with those for a long time. Do you have the Vtech Alphabet Train? I got that for her at 12 months and she still loves it – she knows all of the letters and shapes, and I assume she learned them from playing with it so much! But I think Mac may be a bit old to be spending that much money on it now. Lego hasn’t been as big a hit for us, but sometimes she likes it. And she’s not overly interested in coloring.

    That’s all I’ve got for you!

    • THANK YOU! We upped our Sippy Cup inventory earlier today and I have only one bottle tucked in a cabinet just in case. . .but I don’t foresee a “situation.” Ha.

      I’m going to check out the sleep sack you mentioned. Our house gets so warm in the winter, he will honestly probably be fine in PJs. It’s these in-between seasons that seem hard to control. Maybe a sleep sack would be perfect for these fall months before we turn on the heat.

      Thank you for all the book ideas. Hippos Go Berserk is a huge fav around here. . .He loves the page where they all “go berserk.” Crazy loves it. Laughs and laughs. I never would have guessed.

      Mac would far rather look at a book than just about any toy. We have a lot of the Melissa and Doug stackers, shape sorters, puzzles, etc. He has a Fisher Price Alphabet/singing train and the “Evil” Puppy. Ha! I try to reserve the puppy for his crib – so he can play for a few minutes just before sleep. He’s mildly obsessed with our iPhones, (not that he has much access) so I would definitely consider a LeapPad type toy for him.

      Thanks so much for your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

