Purposeful Parenting?

Did you just HEAR what she said?! Ear-muffs! Ear-muffs!

I know this will come as a surprise for those of you who think I spend nearly every waking minute swilling booze and spewing snark but I am serious about my parenting.

Frequently clueless. . .but caring.  

I think about it a lot.

I think about my actions.  My words.

I want to provide my kid with the best childhood I can possibly offer him.

Every kid deserves that.

So when the laundry needs folded and the dishwasher needs unloaded and I have 14 things on my to-do list, the cat barfed on our bed (again), the kid is eating dog food, and I’m quite literally seconds away from peeing my pants, and bedtime is a LONG ways off. . .I sometimes have to remind myself to keep things in perspective.

So what if the kid eats dog food?  It’s quality dog food. 😉

The other day, I came across a post at Lil Blue Boo that offered a really nice, short sweet summary of “goals” Ashley had for her daughter.

Ashley aspires to parent in a way that will help her child become: humble, compassionate, curious, respectful, accountable, and with the ability to speak up, as well as understanding the world doesn’t owe her a thing.

And every day, they remind their daughter to “make good choices.”

I love this and I’m certainly going to remind myself of these simple principles as I go about my days with Mac.  The older he becomes, the more I’m reminded that my purposeful parenting is so important to his development.

I’m just curious. . .If I inadvertently let an F Bomb fly in front of him does that count as “Speaking up”?  Or do I just hold myself “accountable”?

Eff me.  It’s never as easy as it sounds.  

4 thoughts on “Purposeful Parenting?

  1. As always. Hilarious. Love ur comment about dog food. Avery sometimes finds an old cheerio on the floor and eats it. I laugh. I have to laugh. We can’t stress about everything… Especially when our to do list is never ending and hey there are worse things than eating an old cheerio 🙂

    • Definitely worse things! Sometimes all you can do is laugh. . .Bonus when the kid laughs with you! (and then you really wonder if you should be laughing but can’t help it.) Saw some adorable sneak peeks at Avery’s BIG ONE via email earlier today. I don’t know how you do it all, but it’s darling. Can’t wait to see more. 🙂

      • Awe, thanks Deni. The birthday was possible thru MONTHS of planning… and having both my parents and my MIL and her sis in town for the weekend. They helped keep Avery occupied while hubby and I cleaned and decorated the house. Then we were able to enjoy the big day with Avery 🙂

Leave a Reply

