You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Wall Art Revamp

Chickadee 5A few weeks back, Chris’ Mother very kindly offered me some wall art she no longer wanted.

It was a modestly sized gold frame containing to signed watercolor prints of chickadees.  You guys know I’m a sucker for the birds. . .

She said she always liked the art, which had hung in their front hallway but since that area had been recently painted, the mat no longer seemed appropriate with the new wall color.

And she was right.

In fact, the mat really didn’t look appropriate for ANY wall color any longer.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t hideous.  It was just dated – a kinda’ mauve splotchy looking affair.

Chickadee 1

Chickadee 2

But the chickadees were adorable and the frame was in great shape.  So after I asked her if she was sure she wanted to part with it, I snatched it out of her hands in a hurry.

I looked at the frame and the mat for a few days.  I weighed my options.  My first thought was to get a new mat.  Maybe get a new mat, put something entirely different in the frame with the new mat and separately frame the chickadee prints in new individual frames.

But then I realized, that plan meant I would be taking something that was free (and I clearly didn’t need in the first place) and allowing it to cost me maybe upwards of $50 or more for new matting, 2 new frames, and a new piece of art for the originally free frame.

It just didn’t make much sense to me to run with that plan.  Especially in light of the fact that we just took a little vacation and I had finally badgered my husband for so long that he broke down and ordered us a new camera several days ago. . .and our Keurig is on the fritz.

AS IF YOU GIVE A DAMN ABOUT ANY OF THAT right?

Get to the point already Deni. . .

The point is, I decided I wasn’t going to spend any money to doctor up this item.  So I had to go with what I had.

I very carefully pulled the craft paper backing off the back of the frame, popped out the foam board backing and the mat and prints.

The prints were attached to the mat only at the top side of each print.  And fortunately, the adhesive used to attach them, wasn’t super strong so I was able to remove the prints easily and without damaging anything.

Then I stared at our friend Mauv-y Mat. . .Ugh.  What was it going to be?  Paper?  Fabric?

Ultimately I decided I didn’t want anything competing with the bird prints.  So solid paint it was going to be. . .Solid black paint.  Which I applied with a little foam brush.  (It doesn’t have to be perfectly smooth but the foam brush helps get it close).

I applied a few coats of paint allowing the paint to dry between coats, reattached the prints to the mat, cleaned the glass and frame and reassembled everything.

Chickadee 3The whole project took just a few minutes. . .and now it will probably wait weeks to be hung up. . .because I hate asking my husband to get out the drill!

Chickadee 4

2 thoughts on “You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Wall Art Revamp

  1. Thanks! I’m glad it turned out well. For all the little projects my sick little head dreams up, it never occurred to me before to paint a picture mat. I’m glad I tried it. This one looks so nice, I’m wondering if I should offer it back to my Mother-In-Law? It would definitely look nice in her front hall. . .hmmm. . .

Leave a Reply

