Thanks For The Memories!

DSC_0088For anyone that checks out this little slice of Internet Heaven on a routine basis, you are well aware I am a repeat offender, perpetually at the top of everyone’s naughty list.

Fortunately for me, “naughty” is a relative term and my Husband clearly has a high tolerance for insanity, bullshit, irresponsibility, and sloth. . .which means the poor guy sucker still thinks I’m worthy of his tireless efforts to make me happy. . .

Well, that and I excel at bitching, moaning, nagging and guilt-tripping. 

And this year, all of my aforementioned talents were focused on one thing and one thing only:  A CAMERA.

We NEEDED a new camera.

All of our kid photos for the past 10 months looked like blurry Bigfoot footage.

It had to stop.

And I decided the only thing that would stop it was a Nikon DSLR.

Long story short, I put forth my best nagging efforts, did some research, and did just about everything but threaten to withhold sex (only because I’m too lazy for sex in the first place) until Chris ordered me the Nikon DSLR of my choosing.

I know it sounds like I’m spoiled.  I am.  But honestly, I’d rather have a decent camera than a fancy wardrobe, or car, or the full Direct TV package, or a housecleaning service.  OR ANYTHING!  I love photos.  I take photos every day.  I was desperate for a decent camera.  I was willing to sacrifice almost anything to get it.

The camera arrived a few weeks ago and Chris and I both skimmed the basics portion of the user’s guide – which is just slightly less voluminous than my 2L Constitutional Criminal Procedure Case Book. . .We both played around with it. . .

We aren’t good enough to use the fully manual settings but we’re definitely getting more comfortable with the basics.

So of course it was with great anticipation that I packed up the camera before we headed to Mimi Carol’s house for our Holiday Hoopla Part I last weekend.  These were going to be the BEST holiday candids EVER!  Mac is at an adorable age and his holiday wonder would be recorded for all eternity in like a BILLION mega pixels!!!!

I took this very seriously.  So seriously in fact, that I took extra time to make my hair look nice, to use mascara, and to not get completely wasted during out holiday happy hour(s).  I wanted to look great in the photos while I was helping Mac unwrap his holiday gifts.

So when the time came to help Mac, I was ready for action.  Chris took the camera and Mac did his holiday wonder routine perfectly.

Then I promptly put on comfortable clothes and stuffed myself full of Christmas cookies and egg nog.

When we returned home, I could barely wait to download the photos.  Visions of me looking fabulous with my darling little Sugar Plum danced in my head!  Oh the holiday splendor!

DSC_0066

ARE YOU FUCKING SHITTING ME?!

This is clearly not my best angle. . .and there were at least 35 more equally unflattering photos. . .

DSC_0079DSC_0057DSC_0092DSC_0090

What the hell, Husband?!  What the hell?!!

Oh well, the photos might suck, but the fact that they aren’t blurry is truly a Christmas miracle.

8 thoughts on “Thanks For The Memories!

  1. That’s hysterical!!!

    3 comments/questions:

    1. How do you get your hair to look so freaking good???
    2. Where do you buy your clothes? I love love love love love that dress!
    3. Good luck with The Very Busy Spider. I don’t know why, but that one drives me crazy. I have actually hidden that one along with Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?

    MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

    xo

    • You’re too sweet. . .but flattery will get you everywhere. 🙂

      1. I can’t really take much credit for the hair. I got lucky with the genetics. My hair is naturally curly – even curlier than Mac’s. It tends to be dry. So I only shampoo once a week (sounds gross but it really keeps it much healthier that way). And unless I have big plans, I let it air dry curly. Otherwise, I straighten with a blow dryer and round brush after applying Moroccan Oil and some Frieda Straight Fixation while wet. I flat iron everything and add a little more Moroccan Oil. Then I leave it the hell alone. The hair in these photos is 6 days after a wash and blow out. I teased the crown a little and twisted half of it up and secured with bobby pins. Super fast.

      2. I haven’t purchased anything new for myself in ages. This dress is from Lands End about 3 or 4 years ago. The shoes are Burberry via Nordstrom. When I did shop, most everything came from Ann Taylor (or The Loft), some from Lands End, Talbots, and Nordstrom. . .and Target – ’cause who can resist?

      3. Thanks! I was telling my Mom I knew someone who actually HID this book because they found it rather annoying. (YOU!) Ha. I’ll let you know how it works out.

      You have a fabulous Christmas!

  2. Nice candid shots! ;0) Thanks for sharing. We have an older Nikon DSLR. I love it, though we are trying to make photo albums and frame our favorite photographs.

    • Thanks! So far I love our Nikon too. If you have any tips about getting your photos in order, please, please share. We are reaching a critical point where I have to get things under control or else things will be a mess for the rest of our lives. ha.

Leave a Reply

