You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Fast Shrimp Scampi-ish Dinner

DSC_0155So the dog’s been sick.  I don’t know.  He probably ate something ridiculously wretched at the Park. . .or in our house.  Anyway, he’s not deathly ill.  Just ill enough to leave glorious messes in the house at night while we sleep. . .And his flatulence is toxic.  I’m certain.  If it continues, I’m forcing the Husband to bring home an air-monitoring device. . .

When one of our dogs develops a minor stomach issue, we typically try to address it at home before heading to the Vet.  They get a diet of rice cooked in broth, boneless/skinless chicken breast, fat-free plain yogurt and sometimes a Pepto Bismol.  (Please note, this is based upon our Vet’s orders and ONLY if the dog is a little ill.  If your dog is sick for the first time or violently ill, be smart, see your Vet.  I’m not a trained pet professional).

Anyway, point is, I’ve been cooking up a LOT of rice.  And since I’m cooking rice, I thought I could perhaps make a little extra and try out the following recipe. . .Shrimp Scampi with Spinach!

So we now appetizingly go from doggie diarrhea to Shrimp Scampi dinner!  Excited aren’t you?

This is a recipe I found in a Real Simple magazine years ago.  Of course, I made a few modifications. . .

1.  I cooked the rice in chicken broth – because that’s what the dog wanted.

2.  I omitted the wine – because duh I drank it all already.

3.  More butter, people.  More butter.

4.  Fresh tarragon?  Oops.  That was left off the grocery list somehow?  Screw it.  I’m not sure I love tarragon anyway.  Plus, I’d rather clean up more dog excrement than go to the grocery twice in one day.

5.  AND since I felt as if I was potentially lacking in the flavor department, I added the tomatoes to the rice (after the rice was cooked).  Sautéed the garlic, butter, and shrimp together in a skillet to try to get that good buttery garlic flavor more concentrated.  Then I removed them from the pan and wilted the spinach separately in the same hot skillet.

6.  I used only half a pound of shrimp (not the full pound mentioned in the recipe).  And I used a very large bag of baby spinach. . .probably at least double the amount called for in the original recipe.  We like our veggies.

7.  Red pepper flakes anyone?  We are a zippy bunch.

That is all.  The longest part of this whole dinner was cooking the rice.  We use the long grain brown kind and it takes a while to soften.  Of course if you used an “instant rice,” you’d probably be done in 30 minutes tops.

Chris didn’t go WHOOOOOOAAAAAA-NEELLLLLIEEEEE like he does with some dinners, but he did help himself to seconds.  And he thanked me for cooking dinner. . .So either he liked it or he was angling for a little extra somethin’ later. . .good thing there’s left overs!!

DSC_0154

10 thoughts on “You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Fast Shrimp Scampi-ish Dinner

    • Thanks! It was pretty good. Like I said, it didn’t blow me away but still pretty good. We had salmon earlier this week. I broiled it with a little maple syrup and dijon mustard slathered on top. That was actually fabulous. . .probably helped that I didn’t over-cook the fish. I have a habit of getting it just a tad too dry. 🙂

  1. Oh Lordy, nothing like cleaning up after a dog. And that reminded me of the time my mother was bound and determined she was going to fill up ole’ Worthless. I think I’ll make a post on it. Anyway, best of luck with your pet.

  2. i dont do seafood, so not thrilled about the shrimp recipe…. but love your comments about your sick dog. We don’t have a dog, but our friends (that sit for Avery) do and man does that dog’s farts smell!

    • Ha! Do yourselves a favor. . .DO NOT GET A DOG! EVER! (I’m only half kidding – they are GROSS!) My Mom doesn’t do any sort of fish either – not even a little bite of tuna salad. She just can’t stand the taste. Hope you have a great weekend!

    • I read your post last evening! Poor old Worthless! Ha. Reminds me of a story about my Stepmother. . .She made ham and bean soup once. A LOT of it. And finally my Father told her to get rid of the rest, he didn’t care how, he couldn’t eat any more of it. So she fed it to their dogs. Obviously, the um outcome was wretched! Thank you so much for mentioning my blog! I am really enjoying your’s too. I’ll be certain to mention it soon. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

