You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Cheap Kid’s Craft/Activity with Plastic Placemats

DSC_0124We like birds.

You know how when you like something, you start being gifted things related to your interest?

It’s great!

Unless you have a super teensy house like we do and too much of anything is well, just too MUCH!

But we still love us some birds. . .For Christmas, I was gifted some adorable Ikea place mats with. . .you guessed it. . .birds on them!

I adored the design – so colorful. . .but we don’t use place mats.  And I didn’t really want them hanging around just for a special occasion.  Chris suggested we use a couple as cutting boards.  A good idea but I didn’t necessarily want to ruin them chopping stuff all over them.  They were just too cute.

So I chopped THEM up instead.

I know.  It makes perfect sense right?  

We have a transom above our back door.  It originally contained a beautiful stained glass.  However, we were told by neighbors, sometimes, the stained glass transoms at the back of the houses are targeted by thieves.  So we opted to have our back transom refurbished and relocated it to the transom above our upstairs bathroom door – where it is safe and sound.  We replaced the back door transom with a plain, non-functional piece of glass.

And that’s fine.  Although, at certain times of the year, the sun comes through that glass just right to blind us while eating dinner.  Chris forbid me to use a frosting spray on it as I had done to our basement door.  And I couldn’t figure out how to make a curtain look appropriate over that transom since the entire frame is so close to the adjacent wall.

But then I was gifted plastic-icky bird place mats!  I thought Mac might have fun looking at all the colorful birds in the window.  I was hoping they would filter the light a tad and not look too over-powering in that spot.

Figuring I had little to lose, as I could repurpose the bird cut-outs another way, I roughly cut out the bird shapes with sharp scissors and applied them randomly to the inside of the window using double-sided tape.

DSC_0114

I had a few left over so I used a hole punch to make a hole and attached them to the adjacent window with little suction cups. hooks.

DSC_0118

This would be an easy, inexpensive project for an older child.  I’m sure you can find place mats with all sorts of designs on them.  You could probably even attach magnets so your children could use them on a magnetic surface.  Or velcro so they could stick them to a fabric covered canvas or board.  I think they would also make cute gift tags – maybe use a chalk ink marker or Sharpie to write the recipient’s name on them?

The whole project took just a couple of minutes.  Mac enjoys looking at them. . .and they make me smile too!

4 thoughts on “You Can Accomplish This Before Your Effing Head Explodes: Cheap Kid’s Craft/Activity with Plastic Placemats

    • Thanks! Who knows? I never expected to be absolutely awestruck by the curiosity and potential of children. It’s astounding!

      I’ll be proud of Mac no matter what he does. . .Although, I have to say I might be a tad disappointed if he’s still living in our basement when he’s 48! 😉

Leave a Reply

