Reluctant Mother Is Tempted To Sleep With Another “Man”

Those eyes!  That hair!

My heart beats a little faster when I think about him.

He’s cute!

Charming.

Smart too.

Should I?

Should I give into my temptation and just do it?

It’s sooooooo tempting.

No one has to know.  

Maybe just once?

One time?

I could cuddle him so hard!

NO!  NO!  NO!!

What am I thinking?

STOP IT!

It could ruin your marriage.

Banish the thought!

DO NOT LET THE TODDLER GET IN BED WITH YOU!!!!

It’s so very tempting!

He’s adorable and snuggly.  He nestles himself into my arm and presses his chubby face into my shoulder and says “I love you” and then lifts his (momentarily) angelic face and puckers his lips anticipating a sweet little kiss.

For the past two nights, when I’ve put him in his crib he begins wailing, desperately clinging to me between the crib rails.  “No, no, no,” he protests mournfully.

My heart breaks and I wonder if perhaps he couldn’t just climb in bed with us for the night?  It would stop this terrible mommy guilt I’m feeling.  It would also allow me to get in bed (already!)

But I can’t.  I just cannot give in.

He’s not going to sleep when he gets in the bed.  He’s going to demand to see the blinking baby monitor, the phone, the TV ‘mote.  He’s going to bounce around and laugh and play and yank on the huge framed art hung above the bed.

When he does finally pass out from exhaustion, he’s going to squirm, and shift, and wiggle, wedging his little monkey toes under my ribs. . .Poke.  Poke.  Poke.  I’ll awake with a disgusting drool-covered Wubby over my eyes, head pounding, feeling nothing but regret for my poor decision.

Worst of all?  He’s going to expect it.  He’s going to want to sleep with us EVERY. NIGHT.  That prospect doesn’t bode well for my marriage.  I’ve noticed my Husband doesn’t function well when sleep (or sex) deprived.

I try explaining this to Mac as I pace with him in his Sleepy Wrap. . .and just before he drifts off to sleep, I hear him say in his sweet, sleepy little voice “Okay.”

And then I really want to cuddle him SO HARD!

Ahh. . .these were the days. . .

Aww. . .these were the days. . .

12 thoughts on “Reluctant Mother Is Tempted To Sleep With Another “Man”

  1. I love the way you started this post! Too funny! I have fallen victim to the toddler sleeping in bed with us. They are just TOO cute and cuddly. But we are blessed to have a really good transitioner, and he is now a preschooler and knows the rules. He can sleep in our bed on weekends, but as soon as Sunday night rolls around, he’s back in his own bed. It’s like a little slumber party and we get to fall asleep watching cartoons. 🙂 But this is not advice I’d dole out to people–if kids are not good transitioners and don’t readily go back to their own beds, this can wreck havoc on sleep–and yes, a marriage!

    • I’m glad you liked the post. You are fortunate to have a good transitioner. . .I’m sure you put forth a good deal of effort to encourage that as well.

      Mac is generally pretty easy going so perhaps when he’s a little older and understands better we could try a “sleep over” approach for weekends. I’ve always thought it would be fun to do that sort of thing in our basement in the TV/guest room when he’s older. . .camp out, watch movies, play games, snack. . .We’ll see.

      Right now I CAN’T CHANCE IT! Ha.

      Thanks for reading and for the comment!

      • By the way–thanks for hopping over to my blog, too! I didn’t realize when you commented that you were the author of this blog, and that I’d already stopped over and read today’s post! Haha–so never mind the comment on my blog where I ask for your blog address. I’m already a follower! 🙂

      • I checked out your blog a while ago and I’m sad to say I never made it back. But I’m glad you commented here and I subscribed to you now because I don’t want to miss any of your hilarious posts! I’lll check out everything I missed as time allows. 🙂

  2. I know that feeling! They sucker you with promises of going right to sleep then all hell breaks loose- and my husband starts with the “I told you so!” So sometimes I go into Ana’s bed until she falls asleep because I can’t resist.

    • Well. . .The evening after I wrote this post, he ended up awake screaming viciously sometime about 1AM. I was exhausted so I drug our fluffy duvet into his room placed it on the floor and we BOTH slept on the floor of his room for the rest of the night. I was afraid last night wasn’t going to go well and I might be sleeping on the floor for the next 12 years, but he slept well. Fingers crossed it continues. . .Hang in there!

  3. I am SO glad I didn’t fall into the co-sleeping trap. I assume it is really hard to break as they get older and are free to leave their bed and jump into yours whenever they want! Fingers crossed I don’t fall into bad habits when she is in a big girl bed!

    • I remember sneaking into my parent’s bed before they came to bed. Once I was there and asleep, they were (rightfully) scared to disturb me. I knew I had them.

      I’m hoping this kid stays in a crib until he leaves for college! Ha!

Leave a Reply

